• tags: Android

    In order to make or install a custom boot animation you need to have the following:

    1) the android OS
    2) a rooted phone (refer to articles below for links on how-to’s
    3) preferrably root explorer, or a terminal emulator with the ability to remount the /system node in RW mode.
    4) the patience required to follow instructions 🙂

    TO BUILD YOUR OWN I RECOMMEND:
    1) the gimp (http://gimp.org)
    2) the Gimp Animation Package (found above, search page)
    3) some minor artistic talent
    4) patience or determination
    5) basic reading skills 🙂

    Step one: first off you should read these articles.

    installing a custom boot animation
    http://short.ie/customboot

    other people’s boot animations:
    http://short.ie/othersboots

    building your own BA
    http://short.ie/bawalkthru

    Step two: okay, so now we’ve either decided not to do our own and used someone else’s cool work or we are going to build our own or we’re not doing either (in which case,… why are you here? oh…)

    Step 3: I’m doing this tutorial the same way I did mine. I know there are more accurate ways of doing this but this method was easier for me because I was lazy, hurting, and on good drugs at the time. First let’s get a template to work from.

    Download shakugan boot animation from here:
    http://droidboots.com/http//droidboots.com/downloads/bootanimations/shakugan.zip

    Step four: So as stated earlier I’m kinda in recovery from some stuff and I was feeling lazy. I didn’t want to hand edit every frame of my own boot animation and so that’s why we make sure to have the animation studio for Gimp installed.

    Unzip the shakugan zip file
    In part0 you’ll see our images.

    Open the 01.png file using Gimp.

    This will be the template we’ll use for our template file.

    Things to remember:
    A) You need to keep the image RESOLUTION the same (the resolution of the original shakugan boot animation is 240×424 I believe)
    B) Keeping the same number of frames makes this much simpler. add/delete layers as needed and use the ANIMATION>Playback feature inside the GIMP filters menu to preview your work.

    Making the animation Part 1:

    1. click FILE> SAVE AS> and then make a new directory called “workfiles” or whatever you want and then save the file as 0.xcf.
    2. EDIT > Select ALL, then EDIT > Clear (or optionally fill using foreground)

    Part 2: building your animation

    Okay so if you’re unfamiliar with GIMP or photoshop and have no idea what working with image layers means, stop here and google yourself some know-how. I’ve been using both for over a decade so use some reference materials and play around using a separate image until you got it figured out. Working with images (and using this tutorial) isn’t exactly a science, and sometimes you need to just screw around until you get it right.

    MAKE SURE YOU SAVE THE CHANGES YOU LIKE.
    Anytime you screw up, just use undo/redo and/or revert and you can undo most problems.

    My method of creating the Sith Beast Boot Animation (beastboot.zip):

    I made 12 different layers, each layer showing a major transition in my boot animation. I started with the symbol a dark gray, having the symbol start to glow more and more with each consequential layer. The total number of frames is 42 so if you’re going to try and use the same basic concept I did, 12-ish layers works out.

    When I had all my steps I used the FILTER Animation>Blend-In and had it build me a blended animation of 40 or so layers (i did have to mess around with the amount of intermediary frames until I got close to my target number, and come to think of it, I don’t know if my original, pre-filtered image had exactly 12 layers, but I know it was close.

    Basically the short version: fiddle with your image, making a total of 42 layers that you’ll be using the GAP to dissect into multiple images.

    Use animation>playback to get a rough preview.

    When you have said number of layers use the VIDEO tab (should be present if GAP was installed correctly) and then:

    Split Image into Frames

    This will open a dialog window which will ask you some basic information like the extension to use and how many numeric prefixes to use. I selected 2 and to simplify things immensely i switched the extension to “.png” (don’t use the quotes).

    This created 42 files named:
    0_01.png to 0_42.png in my work directory.

    Using a simple renaming tool I removed the 0_ in front of the 42 images (you can do this how you want to, manually, a renaming tool, a script, or your psychic powers and concentration), but ended up having 42 files from 01.png to 42.png.

    Copy the files to the folder where we extracted shakugan.zip, over-write as necessary. do not copy our .xcf file into the directory as it simply bloats the .zip file. remember this is going onto your phone’s memory so small is good.

    When you’re done, simply zip up the part0 folder and the other files extracted (but no additional directories, just part0 and desc.txt) into a new zip file, copy it to your SD card by any number of methods, and then follow the tutorial above to put it in place.

    (I had sapphire ROM installed at the time and went into terminal, used the scriptybox script sysrw and remounted the file system in read/write mode and then copied the file in place. I later used root explorer when I switched back to LithiumMod ROM).

    Reboot to enjoy your own boot animation.

    If you enjoyed this, let me know,

    http://twitter.com/nokturnis

    On facebook (Drew Ford)

    or via Google Buzz or various other methods…

    (SMS, you name it).

    Thanks for your time,

    Drew

Posted from Diigo. The rest of my favorite links are here.

